Welcome!

Join our community of MMO enthusiasts and game developers! By registering, you'll gain access to discussions on the latest developments in MMO server files and collaborate with like-minded individuals. Join us today and unlock the potential of MMO server development!

Join Today!

[TUTORIAL] Custom login screens

Supreme Arcanarch
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
957
Reaction score
0
Well, some people were asking for a tutorial so here goes.

Things you'll need.

- Developer mode runnable (See bottom of post). Not a requirement, but makes things a lot better.
-A brain

Let's get started.

First, unpack the Login.mrs in the Interface folder in Gunz. Open up Login.RS.XML. See this somewhere near the bottom? (Note, number won't be 0s)

Code:
        <DUMMY name="spawn_solo_101">
            <POSITION>0.0 0.0 0.0</POSITION>
            <DIRECTION>0.0 0.0 0.0</DIRECTION>
        </DUMMY>
        <DUMMY name="camera_pos 02">
            <POSITION>0.0 0.0 0.0</POSITION>
            <DIRECTION>0.0 0.0 0.0</DIRECTION>
        </DUMMY>
        <DUMMY name="camera_pos 01">
            <POSITION>0.0 0.0 0.0</POSITION>
            <DIRECTION>0.0 0.0 0.0</DIRECTION>
        </DUMMY>
Copy that and save it somewhere for now. Now, unpack your map that you wanna use as a login map. first of all, change all the important filenames (the BSP, COL, LM, RS, RS.XML, and minimap.xml) so the map name is Login instead of whatever it was before, and rename the folder it's in to login. Now, open up the RS.XML in the new map and scroll toward the bottom. If it has one, delete the spawn_solo_101. Now, the part we copied earlier, paste it into the RS.XML of the new map, in the same area the spawn_solo_blahs are.

Now, here's where the hard/fun begins. Chances are, the part you just pasted in has terrible coordinates and spawn points for the character. Technically you could pack the new login into an MRS and use it as it is, but it would look disgusting. So, here's where the developer mode runnable comes in. Use debug mode (not gonna explain how, just google) and play in debug mode in the map you want as a login with the developer runnable. While ingame, pull up the dev menu (explained at the bottom of the post) and go where you want in the map. Get your character in the exact position you want it to face and be in the login map. See the direction and coordinates of the character? Put those numbers into the <POSITION> and <DIRECTION> areas of the spawn_solo_101. For the camera it's basically the same thing, just use your character to approximate where you want the camera to start and end and where to face. It's not hard.

Now just pack it all up into an MRS once you have the coords and directions put in and you should be good to go. Congratulations, you have a custom login map.

Credits to peaceofpi for helping me out on my first login map, credits to me for writing the guide, etc. etc. etc.


Dev mode poop:


There's a dev mode runnable. It uh, is from like September '05 so doesn't support things like snow in maps. And I don't think it'll work on pservers for obvious reasons. Press F9 to enable dev mode ingame.
 
Custom Title Activated
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
1,358
Reaction score
15
i hate you lol ... anyways i think i don't have the right to post htem so i'll just say that with some trainers you can like get the coords, and like go where you want then lock coords or activate float mode if you can't walk on the surface then get coords and type them in ***.RS.xml
 
Supreme Arcanarch
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
957
Reaction score
0
But those are called hacks. Those can help cheat, the most the one I posted can do is tell you where you are, lmao.
 
Custom Title Activated
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
1,358
Reaction score
15
yea that's why i won't post them here, some noob could use them on some servers and i would be blamed for a 9 years old bastard
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
124
Reaction score
0
I havent see a trainer give positions

Ive seen my DLL do it though.
 
Supreme Arcanarch
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
957
Reaction score
0
Eh. I just linked to that old dev mode runnable from like September '05. Press F9 and it brings up the coords, speed, animations being called (I think, haven't used it in a while), etc.
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
124
Reaction score
0
Yeah thats boring. With my DLL I even animate the camera movements.
 
Junior Spellweaver
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
124
Reaction score
0
No, If I wanted to give it to other people, Id publically release it.
 
Custom Title Activated
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
1,358
Reaction score
15
i have it =P

but i won't share if Buga doesnt want me to
 

mts

Experienced Elementalist
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
298
Reaction score
3
and... what about quest in different maps?

I was trying to do that.. but i cant...

my friend got a "town quest", but not complete town(err i cant explain)
 
Custom Title Activated
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
1,358
Reaction score
15
the dev mode runnable keeps saying check for updates

you have to create a shortcut for the loader then after go to its properties then in the target box add at the end

Code:
 "path" /game town

it will automatically create a game in the town map, you can change it, but no maps with spaces in their name
 
Supreme Arcanarch
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
957
Reaction score
0
Guys. I said in the Ducking post, this runnable DOES NOT PLAY ON PRIVATE SERVERS.

You can ONLY use it in debug mode. That's it. And I'm not explaining how to use debug mode, just use google, it'll take 10 seconds to find a guide.
 

Ali

Initiate Mage
Joined
Sep 12, 2007
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Nice tutorial :) But why is it entitled 'Custom login screens' when it's to do with login maps (whatever they are), as opposed to login screens (Splash screens with a login dialog)?
 
Skilled Illusionist
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
303
Reaction score
0
so basically this can move the login box. =D
 
Back
Top